Keystone logo

University of Castilla La Mancha

A logo


The University of Castilla-La Mancha is a modern and competitive institution, with nearly 30,000 students, 2,270 professors and researchers, and 1,059 administration and services professionals. We are driven by a passion to discover what is behind the obvious, to delve into science, to shake up culture, and to share it with you.

We put at your disposal our offer of degrees, masters, doctorates, and own titles; as well as many other initiatives that could interest you, from a powerful training in languages to our cultural programming, through the University for the Elderly or sports activities.

The University of Castilla-La Mancha began its journey in 1985, although it was formally created by the law of June 30, 1982, as a result of political autonomy and the collective desire expressed by the Castilian-La Mancha society and shared by the Government regional.

The academic institution became from its inception a cohesion factor with a clear objective ahead: to act as a fundamental piece for the economic, social, cultural, and technological development of the Autonomous Community, responding to its present and future needs.

In 1982, Professor Javier de Cárdenas y Chávarri was appointed Chairman of the Management Commission in charge of launching the University of Castilla-La Mancha. This position would be held between 1983 and 1988 by Professor Isidro Ramos Salavert, who was succeeded by Professors Luis Arroyo Zapatero (1988-2003) and Ernesto Martínez Ataz (2003-2011). This responsibility falls since December 2021 Julián Garde.

In its thirty years of existence, the UCLM has facilitated the access of young people to higher education, energizing the life of the cities where its four campuses are installed: Ciudad Real - headquarters of its Rectorate -, Albacete, Cuenca, and Toledo. At present, his teachings also extend to the towns of Almadén (Ciudad Real) and Talavera de la Reina (Toledo).


  • Calle Altagracia,50, 13001, Ciudad Real

  • Calle de Santa Teresa Jornet, 16002, Cuenca

  • Avenida de Carlos III,n°21, 45004, Toledo

  • Avenida de España,s/n, 02001, Albacete

  • Avenida Real Fábrica de Sedas,s/n, 45600, Talavera de la Reina

  • Abandoibarra Etorbidea,3, 48009, Bilbao

  • Av. Séneca,2, 28040, Madrid

  • 3400, Almadén